All Products  |   Support  |   Search  |   microsoft.com Home  
Home Install Privacy User Guide TroubleShoot

Microsoft® File Transfer Manager

User Guide

Main Dialog

    Current Transfers

    A "transfer" is a download or upload that you have initiated with a Microsoft program's web site using File Transfer Manager (FTM). A transfer can consist of one or more files depending on how the Microsoft Program (from where you initiated the transfer) has packaged it. All the transfers that you have initiated from your computer and which have not yet been completed or cancelled will appear in the Current Transfers window.

    After you initiate a transfer and confirm, the transfer will appear in the Current Transfers window. �FTM will determine if it can start the transfer immediately and if so it will begin the transfer and the status will be set to Active. If the transfer cannot be started immediately then it will be put in Queued status. FTM will process queued transfers from the list (top to bottom order) as and when a slot opens up in the active transfer pool. See Concurrent Transfers for an explanation on how FTM maintains the number of active transfers.

    Occasionally a transfer can get interrupted due to network conditions. FTM provides the ability to restart such transfers and the transfer is resumed from the point of interruption. You can resume transfers later on as explained below under Operations you can perform on a selected transfer.

    After a transfer is completed, its status changes accordingly. The next time you start up FTM, the transfer will not appear in Current Transfers (but it will be in the History list)

    You can change the order of transfers in Current Transfers list by using Up and Down arrows on the right hand side of the window.

    Operations that you can perform on a selected transfer

      You can select a transfer from Current Transfers list by clicking it.

      Suspend/Resume: When you select a transfer in Current Transfers, this button will show-up as Suspend (if the selected transfer is active) or Resume (if the selected transfer is not active). You can suspend an active transfer or resume a transfer that is not active by clicking this button.� When a transfer is suspended you can close the FTM client, launch it at a later time, and resume the transfer from the point at which is was suspended.

      Cancel: If you select a transfer in Current Transfers and click Cancel button, then it will cancel the selected transfer. Any files transferred as part of this transfer will be lost. The next time you start up FTM the transfer will not appear in Current Transfers (but will be in the History list)

      Cancel All: If you click Cancel All button it will cancel all the transfers in Current Transfers window. Any files transferred as part of these transfers will be lost. The next time you start up FTM the transfers will not appear in Current Transfers (but it will be in the History list)

    Selected Item Information

    If you select a transfer in Current Transfers, information such as progress and statistics corresponding to the selected transfer will be displayed in this part. Please note that the Time Remaining and Transfer Rate can vary dynamically depending on network conditions.

Options Dialog

    This dialog allows you to set a number of configuration values that can influence your transfer experience.

    General Tab

    Files received will be placed in this folder: If you specify a location here, then this will appear as the default download location and you will not be prompted to select a location for each download.

    Language Preference: The default language of FTM user interface is English. You can choose a different language for FTM user interface from the drop down list provided in User Locale. After you have chosen the language and click OK, FTM will download the required language resource from FTM web site if necessary. This language resource is very small in size. FTM will not download the language resource if one is already present on your computer and is up-to-date. Display in new language will take effect the next time you start FTM.

    From time to time, there may be updated versions of the language resources available on FTM web site. If you would like your locally stored language resources to be automatically updated then leave Download updates automatically checked.

    Application Startup: Checking Place application shortcut on the desktop and clicking OK will create a shortcut to FTM on your desk top. If you don't already have a shortcut for FTM on your desktop then we recommend that you do this. This will help you to launch FTM to resume any interrupted transfers without having to visit a web site.

    Connections Tab

    Settings:You can configure the below settings that can influence how FTM communicates with the server.

      Maximum Retries and Retry Delay: FTM performs retries when it encounters certain types of network errors during transfers. The default Maximum Retries is five and Retry Delay is three seconds. These values can be changed if needed.

      Request Timeout indicates how long FTM will wait for server side response before timing out. Default is set to 20 seconds and you can change it if needed.

    Firewall / Proxy Server Authentication: If you have a firewall or proxy server that requires explicit authentication before communicating with external sites then you can set the credentials that FTM should use for this purpose. To do so, first check the Use Firewall and then enter credentials in Proxy User Account and Proxy User Password fields.

    Protocol available to transfer files: FTM can perform transfers over both HTTP and HTTPS. While transferring over HTTP, FTM encrypts the data. While transferring over HTTPS, there will be double encryption: one performed by FTM and another provided by SSL.

    You can enforce a specific protocol as below if you choose to. Changes will take effect for the new transfers that you initiate.

      Leave both HTTP and HTTPS checked (this is the default). In this case the protocol will be determined by server side settings.

      Leave HTTP checked and uncheck HTTPS: FTM will transfer files over HTTP

      Leave HTTPS checked and uncheck HTTP: FTM will transfer files over HTTPS.� This configuration is helpful for situations where proxy or firewall settings do not allow FTM HTTP custom headers to pass through.

    Performance Tab

    Concurrent Transfers: Maximum Concurrent Transfers indicates how many transfers can be actively processed by FTM at the same time. You can increase it up to four.

    Please refer to How does FTM maintain pool of active transfers for an explanation on how FTM uses this setting.�

    Download Acceleration: Download acceleration facilitates optimum use of your network bandwidth by overcoming network latency. Please click here for details about this feature and which transfers qualify for acceleration.

    Even though most users want to make the best use of their bandwidth through download acceleration, there may be scenarios where users are sharing bandwidth and thus want to a set a limit on the amount of bandwidth used by download acceleration. Following three options are available:

      No Speed Limit:� This is the default. Under this setting, FTM will try to make the most of your available bandwidth (within any constraints that may exist on server side)

      Limit Speed to xx KB/s: You can set this limit when you want FTM to keep bandwidth consumption by download acceleration on your computer within this limit. This could be useful when you are sharing the network bandwidth with other users and want to limit your consumption. The unit is in Kilobytes per Second and you can set a value in the range of 10-5,000.

      For this setting to be meaningful, the value needs to be less than your total network bandwidth. You may either need to look up the documentation from your network provider or consult your network administrator to find out an appropriate value.

      No Acceleration: This will disable download acceleration. File transfer will still happen, but it will be done without acceleration.

      Any changes to download acceleration settings will take affect when the transfers are resumed next time.

History Dialog

    Completed and cancelled transfers will show up in history list. You can click on any transfer from the list that is displayed and information about that transfer such as the date when it was moved to history and the status will be shown under Selected Item Information.

    This history is stored on your local computer. You can periodically delete that information by clicking Clear Log button.

View Site In:
 ©2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved. Privacy Statement